History of the Oregon NASA Space Grant Consortium

1988:  National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program was established by Congress in 1988 as an effort to enhance the nation's science enterprise. This effort was to be realized by funding research, education, and public service throughout the nation at all grade levels to promote a diverse and well-educated science, engineering, and technology workforce. A year later the program was implemented and managed by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) via a national network of university-based Space Grant Consortia. Programs are administered in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

1991:  In March 1991, Oregon joined the national network as a consortia member. The Program Grant was awarded to Oregon State University (OSU) to implement a balanced program of research, education, and public service. As the lead institution, OSU became the home to the Oregon Space Grant Consortium (OSGC) administrative base. OSGC was established to maintain a diverse array of programs to support space science and engineering education from middle school through graduate school.

1994:  In 1994, OSGC added Southern Oregon State College (now Southern Oregon University) as its first affiliate.

1995:  In 1995 the University of Oregon became affiliated with the Consortium.

1996:  In 1996 Portland State University and Eastern Oregon State College (now Eastern Oregon University) were added as program affiliates.

1997:  In 1997 the Oregon Institute of Technology, Lane Community College, Portland Community College-Cascade Campus, Portland Community College-Sylvania Campus, Portland Community College-Rock Creek Campus, and the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry were added as program affiliates.

1998:  The Museum at Warm Springs joined the Consortium in 1998.

2003:  Western Oregon University is accepted as a Consortium member in 2003.

2004:  George Fox University and Evergreen Aviation Museum join the Consortium in 2004.

2006:  ScienceWorks Hands-on Museum becomes a member of the Consortium in September 2006.

2009:  Pacific University became the newest member of the Consortium in 2009.

2011:  Both the University of Portland and Linn-Benton Community College were accepted as members of the consortium during 2011.  Additionally, Lane Community College reaffirmed their collaboration with OSGC.